Oregon Criminal Defense Theft

541-515-1505

Theft is taking, obtaining, or withholding any kind of property from the owner. The term that covers a wide range of charges, ranging from petty theft to more significant crimes like money laundering. 

In Oregon, being convicted of theft often results in a mandatory minimum prison sentence. A repeat offender, without the help of a good attorney, is almost guaranteed to serve prison time.

There is also the potential of facing a civil (not criminal) case filed by the alleged victim. 

It is crucial that you understand the charges against you, and all of your options. Set up a free consultation with a criminal defense lawyer.

Theft Charges in Oregon

There are three degrees of theft charges in Oregon. 

  • Theft in the First Degree = Theft I
  • Theft in the Second Degree = Theft II
  • Theft in the Third Degree = Theft III
Oregon Criminal Defense Theft - Tullos Law

Theft I Criminal Charges

Theft I is taking property that is valued at over $1,000, and under $10,000, and: 

  • occurred during a riot or a natural disaster; 
  • is a firearm, or explosive; 
  • is an ingredient used in drug manufacturing; or, 
  • is a protected animal. 

Theft in the First Degree is a Class C Felony: the accused person faces up to 5 years in prison, and up to $125,000 in fines.

Aggravated Theft I Criminal Charges

Aggravated Theft I is taking property that is valued over $10,000, and:

  • occurred during a riot or a natural disaster; 
  • is a firearm, or explosive; 
  • is an ingredient used in drug manufacturing; or, 
  • is a protected animal. 

Aggravated Theft in the First Degree is a Class B Felony: the accused person faces up to ten years in prison, and up to $250,000 in fines.

If you are facing aggravated theft charges in Oregon, you should speak to a sexual assault criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. 

Oregon Law for Aggravated Theft in the First Degree: ORS 164.057

Theft II Criminal Charges

Theft II is taking property that is valued over $100, and under $1000.

Theft in the Second Degree is a Class A Misdemeanor: the accused person faces up to a year in jail, and up to $6250 in fines.

Oregon Law for Theft in the Second Degree: ORS 164.045 

Theft III Criminal Charges

Theft III—or, petty theft— is taking property that is valued under $100. Minor shoplifting charges often fall into this category. 

Theft III is a Class C Misdemeanor: the accused person faces up to 30 days in jail, and up to $1250 in fines. 

Oregon Law for Theft in the Third Degree: ORS 164.043

Defense against criminal theft charges

Due to the comparatively limited sentences, people often accept plea deals for petty theft charges. But the real cost isn't the fines, or even the time in jail: it is the criminal record that will haunt you for life. 

Theft charges in Oregon are very serious—but only if the state can prove its case. Depending on your charges, we may be able to help you with getting the theft charges dismissed or reduced.

Don't take your chances with your future: set up a free consultation with our criminal defense lawyers.

On your side

You deserve to have an experienced lawyer on your side. Our attorneys work hard to get the best possible result, every time.

SERVING OREGON

Tullos Law, LLC., is based in Eugene, Oregon. We represent clients throughout Oregon, including: Eugene, Springfield, Corvallis, Coburg, Albany, Cottage Grove, Florence, Junction City, Creswell, Oakridge, Veneta, Lincoln City, Sutherlin, Roseburg, Ashland, Medford, and throughout Lane County, Linn County, Douglas County, Jackson County, Benton County.

Menu